Rising talents to discuss their work, receive awards at festival in March

Staff Report

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival has announced the recipients of the Virtuosos Award presented by UGG, an honor created to recognize a select group of talent whose noteworthy performances in film have elevated them into the national cinematic dialogue.

Caitriona Balfe (“Belfast”), Ariana DeBose (“West Side Story”), Jamie Dornan (“Belfast”), Alana Haim (“Licorice Pizza”), Emilia Jones (“CODA”), Troy Kotsur (“CODA”), Simon Rex (“Red Rocket”) and Saniyya Sidney (“King Richard”) will discuss their work and receive their awards in-person March 5 during the 37th Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

The evening will be moderated for the 12th year by Dave Karger, Turner Classic Movies host.

“This year’s Virtuosos are a phenomenal and international group, who are integral parts of the season’s most exciting and emotional films,” Karger said. “I’m so excited to gather them on stage in Santa Barbara in March.”

The last two years’ Virtuosos honorees were Riz Ahmed, Maria Bakalova, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Andra Day, Sidney Flanigan, Vanessa Kirby, Tahar Rahim, Zendaya, Awkwafina, Taron Egerton, Cynthia Erivo, Beanie Feldstein, Aldis Hodge, George MacKay, Florence Pugh and Taylor Russell.

The 37th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place in-person March 2-12. Official events, including screenings, filmmaker Q&As, industry panels and celebrity tributes, will be held throughout the city, including at the Arlington Theatre. This year’s lineup will be announced this month. For more information or to buy passes, visit sbiff.org.

SBIFF is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit arts and educational organization dedicated to discovering and showcasing the best in independent and international cinema. Over the past 36 years, SBIFF has become one of the leading film festivals in the country, attracting 100,000 attendees and offering 11 days of 200 films, tributes and panels.